Criminology, probation and stuff

Some musings on criminology with a focus on probation

One rule for us…?

leave a comment »

I’m sure it’s very nice that Jade Goody and Jack Tweed can spend their wedding night together. I am completely ready to admit that I don’t know anything about them (apart from one of them is famous for being on a non-celebrity-cum-celebrity tv show and the other one beats people up with golf clubs) and that I don’t know anything about the process behind allowing people to change their curfew times (although I do know that it is possible if, for instance, someone gets a job which would require being out of the house outside of curfew hours). However, I can’t help feeling that this may be a case of ‘one rule for them and one rule for the rest of us.

I suppose we just have to trust Jack Straw.

The justice secretary, Jack Straw, said: “It is crucial that offenders are treated equally within the rules regardless of the publicity surrounding their case but I was satisfied that it was reasonable to allow this.”

I’ve never done that before though so it’s an unusual position to find oneself in on a Friday afternoon!

I wonder if Jade will change her name… Jade Tweed- it could be an alternative to Burberry Check.

UPDATE:

It looks like Andrew Neilson of the Howard League thinks similar thoughts to me. Erm, Guardian, where’s the credit?!

Written by criminologyandstuff

February 20, 2009 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

